New Tiger Woods Commercial

I wasn’t planning on writing anything tonight, so I’ll keep this brief.

Five minutes ago, I was sitting at my desk clacking out more and more of this utterly strenuous Fact Finding final project when my Sportscenter background music became a primary soundtrack. This was because they played Nike’s new Tiger Woods commercial, an ad that debuted tonight on Masters Eve and will likely draw plenty of mixed reactions in the coming days.

My reaction can pretty much be summed up in one word, and that word is “creepy.” The commercial features the eery voice of Tiger Woods’ deceased father, Earl, giving a lecture that may have been appropriate for Tiger on Thanksgiving Night if Earl was still around.

The marketing folks at Nike were obviously in a tough spot in the mindset of “how do we reintroduce Woods to the endorsement world.” I’m not sure what the correct reintroduction would have been, but I am almost certain that this was not it. This commercial is awkward and subjects the words of Tiger’s longtime hero in a way that I find uncomfortable.

The 2010 Masters Tournament starts in just over eight hours, and many are looking forward to one of the most anticipated returns in sports history. Golf fans, including myself, are beyond excited to see what Tiger Woods will do on Thursday. Is it really necessary to accompany it with this sort of night-before introduction?

Just a thought, and an excuse for a homework break.

-Bryan

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “New Tiger Woods Commercial

  1. The whole thing is just surreal. Just totally surreal. It’s almost like we’re watching the “Truman Show,” only remade as a horror flick. I feel sad more than anything. I don’t like this beaten, humbled Tiger we’ve seen over the last couple weeks. I don’t like the way all the ESPN people are pulling for him, and laughing it off, and, in general, commenting on this guy like he’s a figure in a tragic play – somebody who’s just kind of “out there” in the cultural lexicon, but not a real person. The worst part of it is, Tiger totally feeds into it – the conference, now the commercial. It makes you wonder, when the guy looks in the mirror, does he see himself… or does he see Tiger The Pop Icon, The Legend, The Myth? “Caricature” has never applied more. To anyone.

    If I was writing the script, none of this peripheral bullshit would be happening. He’d come back acting like nothing ever happened, not say a word about it, and pummel everybody into oblivion. I hope he pulls a Pebble 2000 this week. Probably not gonna happen, but it would be the greatest sports moment of my lifetime. Let’s go, Tiger.

    • bholt11

      From now on when you have these random outbursts of expert commentary, could you just add them to the end of my post and make people think I wrote them?

      I don’t know of another golfer in the world that could make the cut after a break like this, but I still have this weird gut feeling that Tiger will go out there and own. Maybe it’s false hope from the reputation he has built, but damn, does it ever make me giddy for Augusta.

  2. Chase

    I was drunk the first time I watched it but after watching it for a second time I still find the whole thing utterly bizarre. I wanna know how in the world they pulled that audio clip. It’s like a phone call from heaven (or hell, depending on Earl’s destination) that happened on Thanksgiving night. I’m just glad they left the Just Do It out at the end of the commercial. As a marketing person I think I just got a great lesson in what not to do when making an ad for your biggest sports figure after said figure goes on a sexcapade.

    • bholt11

      I’m sorry Chase, I tried to read your comment but couldn’t get past the suggestion that Earl Woods may be chilling (ironic) in the underworld. Has the whole role model fall-from-grace thing really hit you this hard? Now go read “Training a Tiger” over and over again and don’t come out of your room until you are 100% re-brain washed, young man.

Leave a Reply

